Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease

Stage Description


Normal: 90 or more

Stage 1: Signs of mild kidney disease but with normal or better GFR greater than 90%

Stage 2:  Mild kidney disease with reduced GFR 60-89 mL/min

Stage 3: Moderate chronic renal insufficiency 30-59 mL/min

Stage 4: Severe chronic renal insufficiency 15-29 mL/min

Stage 5: End-stage renal failure less than 15 mL/min (Person will require dialysis or a transplant)

*Glomerular filtration rate (GFR) tells how quickly your kidneys are cleaning your blood. GFR is also reported in milliliters per minute.